Explore with me Social Media 101!

I invite you to come along with me as I take this awesome journey through my social media marketing certification program.  I will be posting interesting tidbits from my classes along the way.  I will gladly answer questions or elaborate further on any tidbits of interest.

Let’s get started! I guess this being my first post in my new Social Media 101 blog I should give my take on social media.  Well, I think it’s about building Relationships and Connecting!

Wikipedia definition:  Social media refers to the means of interactions among people in which they create, share and exchange information and ideas in virtual communities and networks.

What is Social Networking: Meeting people with similar interests.

Social networking sites are Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Pinterest to name a few. These are places where social interaction happen.  (Discovering and Sharing)

Social Media Marketing – is the way to use technology to build relationships, drive repeat business, and attract new customers through friends sharing with friends.

Really if you think about it social media marketing is just word-of-mouth powered by technology.

Leave a Reply

